Chipmusic • Releases

A Chip off the Shizz Block, Volume Three

This album is the third installment of a compilation comprised of many talented chiptune artists from the [Minibosses Message Forum] at [The Shizz].  Not only is it intended to be a format for Shizz chiptune artists to share their talents, it’s also a new source for an annual fundraiser to help Shizzies get to [MAGFest].

A special thanks to darmock for all of her help with the artwork!

01. Brian Davis – Thrashed (06:03)
02. FUPA TROOPA – G U (Next Tuesday) (02:30)
03. Gwarth – Dualism (04:07)
04. MetalBishop – Level (02:29)
05. Daemon9623 – We Strike at Midnight (03:17)
06. Prizmatic Spray – Neuromancer (00:49)
07. Zio and TEH LOLZ – Sluggo (02:41)
08. eddyrocku – CrossBeat (03:52)
09. Norrin Radd – Playing with the Boys (NES Kenny Loggins Cover) (01:54)
10. darmock – Stage Select on the Ocean (01:11)
11. Nario – Chips of Gaming (03:24)
12. Jason Vincion – Dance of the Dead (03:00)
13. arise_shine – Dysthymia (05:48)
14. Prizmatic Spray – At Home with Friends (00:56)
15. Marshall Art – Crusade (composed by Edward Artemiev) (04:22)
16. M-H – Meguriai (04:02)
17. cetera – Bruce Willis on Drums (04:07)
18. temp sound solutions – pediaLITE (04:40)
19. Wizwars – Reformat the Planet (Bit Shifter Cover) (Live)

via A Chip off the Shizz Block, Volume Three – CCN032 – Concatenation Records.

Chipmusic • Labels • Releases

Various Artists/The Dark Side of the Moon – The 8-bit Album/Pterodactyl Squad

“Although attempted numerous times before, Pterodactyl Squad have finally done the original album justice with the definitive 8-bit interpretation of Pink Floyd’s progressive rock classic. Produced as an 8-bit mirror of the original, the music on this release was created using sounds from various old games consoles including the Sega Mega Drive and Nintendo Game Boy.”

1. Speak to Me/Breathe – Bit_Rat
2. On the Run – EvilWezil
3. Time – khades
4. The Great Gig in the Sky – Rabato
5. Money – sergeeo
6. Us and Them – Videogame Orchestra
7. Any Colour You Like – Jason Vincion
8. Brain Damage – echosignal
9. Eclipse – Temp Sound Solutions



Chipmusic • Releases

temp sound solutions – now youre playing with powar 9 1/2: you go back to the beginning

In this installment of the Now Youre Playing With Powar franchise, Shawn Phase and friends explore and wait around in bonus stages, discover new octaves of sound and space, and take you through a quick trip in the quest for total fan service. Many of the songs on this offering have been tried and tested for this very recording, and the boys in TSS are happy to oblige with even more vigor and aggression. NYPWP 9 1/2 serves as a vassal to bridge the ascent started by the ‘Next Leval’ era by setting up the band to reach Hypercritical Mass, the inevitable ‘one mind mentality of vgm and chiptune’ which is rumored to be the final form of their being. Armed with this album, and my axe, I can conquer anything. Here we are, born to be kings. We’re the princes of the universe.

  • 01 – milons secret castle
  • 02 – gargoyles
  • 03 – smw 1 cave w/ & then w/o yoshi
  • 04 – smw 2 cave
  • 05 – alttp – black mist…
  • 06 – pac-attack – puzzle mode
  • 07 – phoenix wright – inspection war song
  • 08 – sm red brinstar
  • 09 – tetris battle gaiden
  • 10 – new smb
  • 11 – black knight
  • 12 – un squadron final boss medley
  • 13 – wii shopping channel
  • 14 – smb3 dreamscape medley

via temp sound solutions


temp sound solutions – nut up or shut up

a temp sound solutions that is a landmark in hybrid original 8bit/guitar mentality, driven by a sense of machismo and mistakes. originally slated for release on megatwerp and wiped out by dual meltdowns, death of a loved one, and other accidents, this album finally sees the light of day at its rightful home. samples via rantradio, the wwe, and many other sources, this album is sure to confuse and delight you with a little something for everybody. the titletrack is a final fantasy drum and bass mess of a banger, and how can you go wrong with that? other source material sampled and heavily changed from the commodore 64, highly artifacted scat porn, gummo, and hacker tips by ramzi. this record is assuredly the bomb, a true gem of the tss discography.

cover image by paintron.



Temp Sound Solutions webpage majorly overhauled

GREETINGS! Just wanted to say that the temp sound solutions webpage has been overhauled, with a lot of free live music, interviews, and tracks from ep’s and albums. The discography has been fully leveled up to a staggering 200 albums, with samples from each. There are also order pages for all of the “Now Youre Playing With Powar” video game series of albums.

Head over to and take a look. If you would like to be linked to in the links section, get in touch with Shawn Phase at the email listed.